Vanover has been an umpire since 1993, according to MLB's official website, but has only worked one All-Star Game and two postseasons in all that time. Some might find this significant.
Anyway, Stephen Strasburg did not take too kindly to some of Vanover's ball-strike calls in the first inning of Wednesday's game, and if you look at some of the strike zone charts, it's easy to see why.
Here's Strasburg's first inning:
See those green squares in the strike zone? One of those should have been a called third strike to Ruben Tejada. Instead, Tejada lined a single back up the middle on the very next pitch. Cue the staredown between Strasburg and Vanover, which was followed by a 26-pitch first inning.
(Charts via Brooks Baseball)
UPDATE: OK, Mr. Vanover, we take back some of the bad things we've said about you. But our lager point still stands.