clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

How Is This Not Strike Three?

Berkman_medium

↵

This is Lance Berkman in the middle of a swing, with the count standing one ball and two strikes in the bottom of the ninth inning with two outs against the Washington Nationals. Do you think he checked? No, of course not, certainly that looks like a man who has swung his bat around, right?

↵

Well you're wrong. The umpires called this a checked swing, giving Berkman two balls and two strikes and guess what happened next? Walk off, two-run hit for Berkman that wins the game for the Astros. Thanks a lot umps!! 

↵

Via Mr. Irrelevant's twitter