clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Tournament Final: Maryland Loses To Northwestern 8-7 In National Championship Game

The Northwestern Wildcats avenged their heartbreaking lose to Maryland in the last year's national championship game, turning the tables on the Terrapins in a physical 8-7 win at Kenneth P. LaValle Stadium in Stony Brook, N.Y.

Last season, the Wilcats blew a six goal lead, allowing Maryland to earn their tenth national championship. This time around, it was Northwestern rallying from a 4-1 lead midway through the first half, tying the game 5-all at halftime, and then controlling play in a rugged, defensive second half to secure the one goal win.

The Wildcats were lead by Teewarton National Player of the Year Candidate Shannon Smith and goalie Brianne Lomonto. Smith scored four goals, giving her an otherworldly 86 on the season. She beat Maryland cageminder Brittany Dipper at the 4:36 mark with what would end up being the national title winning tally.

Terrapins star Katie Schwarzman scored for Cathy Reese's Maryland squad at the 1:15 mark, but the Terrapins were unable to generate a legitimate scoring chance the rest of the game, as Northwestern Head Coach Kelly Amonte-Hiller left the ball in the hands of star Smith to literally run out the clock (and get fouled a bunch).

This was Northwestern's eight straight championship game appearance, and the win is championship number six for the Wildcats women's lacrosse program.