clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D.C. United Vs. New England Revolution: Black-And-Red Host Eastern Conference Bottom-Feeders

Good evening from a sweltering RFK Stadium, where D.C. United  (5-5-8, 23 points) returns to Eastern Conference action against the New England Revolution. These clubs met in the second game of the season at Gillette Stadium in Foxboro, Mass., with the Revolution running out 2-1 winners over United. Since then, however, Steve Nicol's side have fallen on hard times, winning just two more games this season and currently propping up the bottom of the Eastern Conference with a record of 3-9-7 (16 points). Tonight's game kicks off a little after 7:30 p.m. and can be seen on Comcast SportsNet.

Team News and Lineups

Ben Olsen has made just one change to the side that drew 0-0 with FC Dallas Saturday evening. Josh Wolff's hamstring has recovered enough for him to join Charlie Davies up top. Joseph Ngwenya, who started in Wolff's place Saturday, has been dropped to the bench. Departing midfielder Fred will start on the bench in his last game before leaving the club to join Australia's Melbourne Heart. Austin da Luz, acquired from New York Red Bulls over the weekend, starts on the bench as well for United.

New England forward Benny Feilhaber will miss tonight's game due to suspension after receiving a red card in New England's 3-0 home loss to the Philadelphia Union on Sunday. But the news isn't all bad for Steve Nicol as Ryan Cochrane and Shalrie Joseph return from red card suspensions to take their respective places in defense and midfield. The Revolution will play three up front as Zak Boggs and Zack Schilawski come into the team alongside Rajko Lekic and Kenny Mansally drops to the bench.

Full D.C. United Starting Lineup: Bill Hamid (GK), Perry Kitchen, Ethan White, Brandon McDonald, Daniel Woolard, Andy Najar, Clyde Simms, Dwayne De Rosario, Chris Pontius, Josh Wolff (Captain), Charlie Davies.

Available D.C. United Substitutes: Steve Cronin (GK), Chris Korb, Kurt Morsink, Austin da Luz, Stephen King, Fred, Joseph Ngwenya.

Full New England Revolution Starting Lineup: Matt Reis (GK), Chris Tierney, A.J. Soares, Kevin Alston, Ryan Cochrane, Shalrie Joseph (Captain), Stephen McCarthy, Pat Phelan, Zak Boggs, Zack Schilawski, Rajko Lekic.

Available New England Revolution Substitutes: Bobby Shuttleworth, Darrius Barnes, Franco Coria, Diego Fagundez, Ryan Guy, Sainey Nyassi, Kenny Mansally.