clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cubs Vs. Nationals: Nationals Look To Keep The Cubs "Lovable" Losers

Two starting pitchers will get their 2011 season in the game between the Washington Nationals and Chicago Cubs on Tuesday night at Nationals Park. The Nationals have tapped left-hander Ross Detwiler to take on Chicago Cubs pitcher (and former National) Ramon Ortiz.

Detwiler was called up early Tuesday for a spot start in the Nats rotation due to Saturday's doubleheader and lack of a day off. The southpaw has been up and down with the Nationals since 2007 and most recently comes from Triple-A Syracuse. Detwiler is 2-9 with a 4.74 ERA in his career with Washington. Ortiz takes the mound for Chicago instead of Carlos Zambrano who was put on the DL with back soreness. The 38-year old's name is not lost to Nationals fans. Ortiz pitched for Washington for the 2006 season and on September 4, 2006 he took a no-hitter into the ninth-inning as well hitting the first home run of his career against the St. Louis Cardinals.

The Nationals are hoping that same luck is not with him Tuesday as the Nats hope to keep the Cubs the "loveable losers" they are seemingly proud of being. The Nats beat the Cubs on Monday in extra innings in the first game of the series. Third baseman Ryan Zimmerman returns to the line-up after a day of rest, outfielder Laynce Nix will play first base for the injured Michael Morse and bat clean up and right fielder Jayson Werth hopes to keep "slaying the dragon" and fight his way out of one of the worst slumps of his career.

To make room for Detwiler on the roster, reliever Collin Balester was DFA'd, but there is no threat of him leaving the organization anytime soon.

First Lady Michelle Obama will be in attendance at Tuesday's game so it is recommended Nationals fans arrive an hour or two early to get through traffic and security in time for the game.

Nationals Line-Up

1. Roger Bernadina, LF

2. Danny Espinosa, 2B

3. Ryan Zimmerman, 3B

4. Laynce Nix, 1B

5. Jayson Werth, RF

6. Rick Ankiel, CF

7. Wilson Ramos, C

8. Ian Desmond, SS

9. Ross Detwiler, SP