clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

D.C. United's Chris Pontius named to MLS Best XI

D.C. United midfielder Chris Pontius was named to the MLS Best XI for the first time in his career Monday afternoon.

Ned Dishman

D.C. United midfielder Chris Pontius was named to the MLS Best XI for the first time in his career, the league announced Monday afternoon.

Pontius was the only D.C. United player to make the list, which consists of a goalkeeper, three defenders, four midfielders, and a defender.

The 25-year-old Pontius scored a career-high 12 goals for the Black-And-Red in 2012. He also assisted on four goals while starting 26 of the 31 regular season games he appeared in for United. Pontius' goals were crucial in guiding United to the club's first appearance in the MLS playoffs since 2007. He is also a finalist for the 2012 MLS Comeback Player of the Year Award after missing the end of the 2011 season with a broken leg.

Pontius only played in 12 minutes of the two-legged Eastern Conference Final against the Houston Dynamo before being substituted with a groin injury. Houston won the tie, 4-2, and advanced to Sunday's MLS Cup final against Los Angeles.

The full 2012 MLS Best XI is below.

GK-Jimmy Nielsen (Sporting Kansas City)

D-Victor Bernardez (San Jose Earthquakes)

D-Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City)

D-Aurelien Collin (Sporting Kansas City)

M-Osvaldo Alonso (Seattle Sounders)

M-Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy)

M-Chris Pontius (D.C. United)

M-Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

F-Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls)

F-Robbie Keane (Los Angeles Galaxy)

F-Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

United players have made 24 appearances on the MLS Best XI list since the league's beginning in 1996. Former striker Jaime Moreno holds the club record for most appearances on the list (5), followed by Marco Etcheverry (4), and Christian Gomez (3). Jeff Agoos, Eddie Pope, and Ryan Nelsen all made two appearances on the list, while Troy Perkins, Bobby Boswell, current United head coach Ben Olsen, Luciano Emilio, and Dwayne De Rosario round out the list of previous United honorees.