clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Masters Winner: Bubba Watson Defeats Louis Oosthuizen In Playoff To Take Title

Sunday brought the final round of the 2012 Masters in Augusta. Following a tremendous 72 holes of golf, the winner needed to be determined via playoff, as Bubba Watson and Louis Oosthuizen finished their fourth rounds tied for the lead at 10-under. After two playoff holes, Bubba Watson managed a par to claim the 2012 Masters title.

Oosthuizen and Watson played hole 18 under sudden-death rules, with Watson teeing off first. Both men landed flush on the green and garnered a big roll towards the pin with their second shots, with Watson showing the closer approach. Both men missed their birdie attempts by inches and the playoff went to a second hole.

On the second playoff hole, Watson teed off first and wound up in the trees, while Oosthuizen appeared to wind up in the trees as well, but wound up in the rough just off the fairway. Watson was able to find the green with a tremendous shot out of the trees and sunk the par after Oosthuizen bogeyed to take the hole and the title.

More Masters: Tiger Loses His Cool

Phil Mickelson and Peter Hanson, who entered the final round in the top two slots on the leaderboard at 9-under and 8-under, respectively, faltered on Sunday and ended up having to settle for even round and a share of third place. Mickelson's triple-bogey on the par-3 fourth hole proved to be his undoing. He and Hanson finished tied for third place with Matt Kuchar and Lee Westwood, all at 8-under.

You can view the live Masters leaderboard here.

For more on the 2012 Masters, check out SB Nation's golf page and this StoryStream.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube