clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NCAA Men's Lacrosse Tournament 2012, Loyola (MD) Vs. Canisius: Greyhounds Demolish The Golden Griffins

If there was any doubt as to why Loyola (MD) was the number one overall seed in the 2012 NCAA Men's Lacrosse Tournament, one needed to look no further than their opening round match against Canisus for proof.

The Greyhounds crushed the Golden Griffins by a final score of 17-5 this afternoon at Ridley Athletic Complex. Loyola won the ECAC Championship this season, while Canisius was the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference champion.

For the Greyhounds, Mike Sawyer scored five goals, Eric Lusby scored three, Davis Butts and Scott Ratliff scored two goals while Chris Layne, Justin Ward, Pat Byrnes, Tyler Foley and Will Fredericks all got into the action scoring one goal apiece.

For Canisus, Jimmy Haney scored three goals while Travis Gibbons and Brandon Bull each scored a single goal.

Loyola moves on to the next round and the victory brings their record on the season to a remarkable, 15-1.

For more on college lacrosse head over to College Crosse.