clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NCAA Men's Lacrosse Tournament: Loyola (Md.) Stifles Maryland, 9-3, Wins First-Ever National Title

The Loyola (Md.) Greyhounds scored seven unanswered goals in the final 40:40 to defeat the Maryland Terrapins, 9-3 to win the school's first-ever NCAA championship in any sport.

The Greyhounds were led in scoring by Eric Lusby, who scored four goals on the afternoon on 12 shots. Chris Layne finished with three assists on the game. Other players that scored for the Greyhounds include Davis Butts, Mike Sawyer, Justin Ward, Pat Byrnes and Phil Dobson.

The theme of the game for the Terrapins would be missed opportunities. John Haus recorded nine shots on the game while Mike Chanenchuk recorded eight shots. Between the two players, the Terrapins scored only one goal, by Chanenchuk. The other players to score for Maryland were Jesse Bernhardt and Kevin Cooper.

The Terrapins could just not manage to solve Greyhound goaltender Jack Runkel in the second half and Maryland goaltender Niko Amato could not stop the Loyola attack.

For more on the 2012 men's lacrosse tournament, be sure to follow SB Nation DC's StoryStream for updates. For news and analysis on college lacrosse, check out College Crosse.