clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Katie Schwarzmann Of Maryland Honored As Nation's Best Female Lacrosse Player

The junior midfielder wins the Tewaaraton Award.


On Thursday, Katie Schwarzmann, a junior midfielder from the University of Maryland, was honored with the Tewaaraton Award, which is given to the nation's best female and male collegiate lacrosse players each year. Schwarzmann led Maryland to the national semifinals, where they lost out to eventual champions Northwestern, 9-7.

Schwarzmann had 72 goals and 22 assists for 94 total points on the year. She was also the ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Championship Most Valuable Player. She becomes the third Terrapin to win the award, joining Jen Adams (2001) and Caitlyn McFadden (2010).

Brittany Dashiell (Florida), Becky Lynch (North Carolina), Taylor Thornton (Northwestern) and Michelle Tumolo (Syracuse) were the other finalists for the women's Tewaaraton Award.

Peter Baum, a sophomore midfielder from Colgate, won the men's award. Both awards were presented at a ceremony at the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of the American Indian.

Head over to SB Nation's Maryland blog Testudo Times for all things Terrapins.