clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four-Team Playoff To Replace BCS In 2014

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

In two years, beginning with the 2014 regular season, college football will have a playoff at last. On Tuesday, meeting in Washington D.C., conference commissioners, along with university presidents approved a four-team seeded postseason with two semifinal games in bowls and a national championship game.

The deal last for 12 years and brings about an end to the BCS, which was instituted 14 years ago. Per the Associated Press:

The move completes a six-month process in which the commissioners have been working on a new way to determine a college football champion. Instead of simply matching the No. 1 and No. 2 teams in the country in a championship game after the regular season, the way the Bowl Championship Series has done since 1998, the new format will create a pair of national semifinals. No. 1 will play No. 4, No. 2 will play No. 3.

The winners will advance the national championship game.

The teams will be selected by a committee, similar to the way the NCAA basketball tournament field is set.

Six bowl sites will alternate to host the semifinals.

"This was timely, had to be done," former Big 12 acting commissioner Chuck Neinas told the USA Today prior to Tuesday's meetings began. "(It was in) response to the public, response to the interest in college football. The BCS has done a great deal in helping promote college football, and there's a general feeling we need to do something better to determine a national champion."

For more on the ever-changing college football landscape, be sure to stay tuned to SB Nation Pittsburgh and SB Nation's dedicated College Football hub.