clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 PGA Championship Winner: Rory McIlroy Wins By Eight Strokes

Rory McIlroy captured his second ever major title, winning the 2012 PGA Championship by eight strokes.

McIlroy entered the final round with a three shot lead at seven-under and then exploded with a stellar Sunday, finishing the tourney at 13-under-par after a six-under round on Sunday.

He faced some stiff opposition from Ian Poulter, who began the final round at one-under but after birding the first five holes, had pulled within two strokes of the lead.

On the back nine however, McIlroy would pull away and end up winning by a large margin, much like his U.S. Open victory in 2011.

Tiger Woods finished the day well out of contention at two-under-par, 11 strokes behind McIlroy. Woods failed to shoot under par in both of his rounds on the weekend.

For a complete live leaderboard, visit

For more on the 2012 PGA Championship, check out SB Nation's golf hub and continue to follow this StoryStream.