clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

PGA Championship Prize Money 2012: Rory McIlroy Takes Home Seven Figures

Rory McIlroy won the 2012 PGA Championship on Sunday in impressive fashion. He played the final round bogey-free and went13-under par for the tournament, finishing eight strokes ahead of David Lynn who took second place at 5-under par.

As a result, the victory not only earned McIlroy the Wanamaker Trophy, but also a seven-figure payday. Here is a list of the top 10 finishers for the tournament and the prize money that they took home commensurate with their finish:

First place: Rory McIlroy, $1,445,000
Second place: David Lynn, $865,000
Tie for third: Carl Pettersson $384,500
Tie for third: Justin Rose $384,500
Tie for third: Keegan Bradley $384,500
Tie for third: Ian Poulter $384,500
Tie for seventh: Blake Adams $226,000
Tie for seventh: Jamie Donaldson $226,000
Tie for seventh: Peter Hanson $226,000
Tie for seventh: Steve Stricker $226,000

A breakdown of the rest of the purse -- without ties -- can be found here.

For more on the 2012 PGA Championship, check out SB Nation's golf hub and continue to follow this StoryStream.