clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Lockout 2012: Capitals Assign 21 Players To Hershey

The Washington Capitals assigned 21 players to the Hershey Bears of the AHL on Friday, ahead of the deadline for a collective bargaining agreement on Saturday night. NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman will begin locking out players out at 11:59 p.m. ET on Saturday if the NHL and NHLPA don't reach a deal. Many teams are now attempting to get player moves out of the way, as it appears unlikely that a deal will be reached.

The official site for the Capitals reported the players assigned include Mike Carman, Stanislav Galiev, Garrett Mitchell, Danick Paquette, Mattias Sjogren, Matt Clackson, Zach Hamill, Ryan Potulny, Ryan Stoa, Brett Flemming, Tomas Kundratek, Dmitry Orlov, Cameron Schilling, Dustin Stevenson, Kevin Marshall, Patrick McNeill, Garrett Stafford, Brandon Anderson, Philipp Grubauer, Braden Holtby and Dany Sabourin.

Forward Tom Wilson was also involved in a transaction Friday, as he was loaned to Plymouth of the Ontario Hockey League.

Read more on the Capitals at Japers' Rink and SB Nation DC. Stick with this StoryStream for more coverage of the NHL labor situation, and for coverage across the National Hockey League head over to SB Nation's hockey hub.