clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 NFL Hall of Fame finalists: Warren Sapp, Michael Strahan finalists for 1st time

Fifteen modern-era players are finalists for the NFL Hall of Fame, but only five will be inducted in 2013.


Seventeen finalists for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame have already been announced, and on Saturday, the 44-member selection committee will determine who will be enshrined this year. Only five-modern era players can be inducted in any given year.

There are six first-time finalists this year: Michael Strahan, Jonathan Ogden, Warren Sapp, Larry Allen, Dave Robinson (senior nominee) and Curly Culp (senior nominee). Strahan and Sapp were two of the more dominant defensive linemen in the NFL during their careers. Strahan ranks fifth all-time in sacks with 141.5 and he set the single-season sack record in 2001. Sapp finished his career with 96.5 sacks, and like Strahan, he was selected to multiple Pro Bowls.

Allen, an 11-time Pro Bowler, spent the majority of his career with the Dallas Cowboys. He was a first-team All-Pro player in seven consecutive seasons. Ogden played offensive tackle in Baltimore for 12 seasons, and he too earned 11 trips to the Pro Bowl.

Robinson had a brief stint with the Washington Redskins during his career, as did another finalist -- wide receiver Andre Reed. The full list of finalists is below.

Michael Strahan
Jonathan Ogden
Warren Sapp
Larry Allen
Dave Robinson (senior nominee)
Curly Culp (senior nominee)
Andre Reed
Chris Carter
Jerome Bettis
Tim Brown
Ed Debartolo, Jr.
Art Modell
Bill Parcells
Will Shields
Charles Haley
Kevin Greene
Aeneas Williams

Coverage of the Hall of Fame announcement begins at 5:30 p.m. ET on the NFL Network.