clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards 2012: Bednarik, Maxwell Awards Watch Lists Feature Several Area Players

Several players from area schools made the preseason watch list for college football's Bednarik and Maxwell Awards.

Getty Images

College football season is right around the corner. Fans who have had to sustain themselves on a steady diet of last year's tape and pricey preview magazines got a welcome relief on Monday as the preseason watch lists for season awards appeared.

On Monday, dozens of names for the Bednarik and Maxwell Awards were revealed. The Bednarik Award is given to the nation's best defensive player, and the Maxwell goes to the top offensive player. Several players from regional schools made the list.

For the Bednarik Award, those players include:

  • CB Kyle Fuller, Virginia Tech
  • DE James Gayle, Virginia Tech
  • LB Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech
  • DT Joe Vellano, Maryland

Area names on the Maxwell list are:

  • WR Tavon Austin, West Virginia
  • QB Geno Smith, West Virginia
  • QB Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech

A preseason Heisman list should be released soon. A schedule for more preseason college football award watch lists is available here.

For more on Maryland, check out Testudo Times. For more Virginia Tech, visit Gobbler Country. Follow coverage of West Virginia at the Smoking Musket. Be sure to check out SB Nation's college football hub for more coverage and commentary from around the country.