clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL All-Star Game 2011: Team Lidstrom Defeats Team Staal 10-8

Team Staal entered the third period down a goal, and that's also where they finished it. But there was plenty of scoring in between.

Captain Eric Staal tied the score just three minutes into the final period and Kris Letang put the squad on top five minutes later, but Henrik Lundqvist could not keep Team Lidstrom out of the net. Danny Briere, Jonathan Toews, and Martin St. Louis all scored in the next few minutes to put their team permanently in front. Rick Nash brought Team Staal back within one, but Loui Eriksson added an open net goal for Team Lidstrom, and Staal's final minute tally wasn't enough to send the game to overtime. Team Lidstrom won the game by a final score of 11-10.

The two Capitals failed to reach the scoreboard in the third period, but Alex Ovechkin did manage to be responsible for the first penalty shot in NHL All-Star Game history. As Matt Duchene was on a breakaway for Team Lidstrom, Ovechkin threw his stick across the ice in front of Duchene.

Team Staal can still take solace though in having the game's MVP on their side. Patrick Sharp of the Chicago Blackhawks won the award, scoring a goal and two assists, surprisingly edging Letang, Briere, and Staal, who each had two goals.