clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Washington's Bryce Harper wins National League Rookie of the Year

Washington's Bryce Harper named the National League Rookie of the Year on Monday.

Dilip Vishwanat

Washington Nationals outfielder Bryce Harper won the Baseball Writers' Association of America National League Rookie of the Year award on Monday. Harper received 16 of 28 first-place votes.

Harper, who became the second-youngest player to win the award, was one of three finalists for the NL Rookie of the Year, joining Cincinnati's Todd Frazier and Arizona's Wade Miley. The 20-year-old Harper was called up to the major leagues in late April and batted .270 with 22 home runs and 59 RBI in 139 games for the Nationals. Harper finished fifth in the National League in runs scored with 98.

He was also named to the National League All-Star team and led all National League rookies with 57 extra base hits. Harper is the first Washington National to win the Rookie of the Year award. He was the youngest of the National League finalists, and his 5.0 wins above replacement were the most by a player in his age-19 season since 1900.

Miley finished second to Harper with 12 first-place votes, while Frazier finished third with three first-place votes. Colorado catcher Wilin Rosario also earned a first-place vote. For a full breakdown of the voting, visit the Baseball Writers' Association of America website here.