clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Home Run Derby 2012: Contestants, TV Schedule, Start Time And More

Players are descending upon Kansas City for the 2012 Major League Baseball All-Star game. The game does not happen until Tuesday night, but the festivities get underway on Monday with the Home Run Derby.

Four players from each league will hit balls, or try to, our of the park in the name of charity and television ratings. The American League will be represented by Robinson Cano, Prince Fielder, Jose Bautista and Mark Trumbo. The National League team is made up of Matt Kemp, Carlos Gonzalez, Carlos Beltran and Andrew McCutchen, who replaces ailing Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton.

The rules are simple. Each player gets 10 "outs" per round, an out being a ball that is not a home run. The two players with the most home runs square off in the final round.

ESPN will broadcast the Home Run Derby starting at 8 p.m. Eastern.

For more news and analysis on the Washington Nationals, make sure to stop by Federal Baseball. For more coverage for the MLB All-Star Game, head over to Baseball Nation.

With the 2012 Home Run Derby set to take place on Monday night in Kansas City, SB Nation takes a look at this year's contestants, some of the longest derby dingers in recent history, and whether or not the field will be able to put on a show at a stadium not all that known for surrendering the long ball.