clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

PHOTOS: Why LaRon Landry's Forced Fumble Was Correctly Overturned

The Washington Redskins got a huge play just now against the Dallas Cowboys, as LaRon Landry forced Kevin Ogletree to fumble deep in his own territory. The ball was rolling around for a while and was eventually recovered by Josh WIlson. At the time, the call was Cowboys ball because the ruling on the field suggested Kevin Barnes touched it while out of bounds. The call was eventually overturned and the Redskins got the ball back.

But was it the right call? Photographic evidence says yes.

First things first: when Barnes was out of bounds, he wasn't touching the football. Here's photographic evidence from @cjzero.

 Photo_1_barnes_medium

So Barnes is OK. The next question has to do with Wilson. It's close, but Wilson's foot is inbounds. Via @bubbaprog.

2011-september-26-21-13-13_medium

So in the end, the referees made the right call. Unfortunately, the Redskins settled for a field goal on the ensuing possession.

For more on the Redskins vs. Cowboys Monday Night showdown, visit this StoryStream. Visit Hogs Haven for more on the Redskins, and visit Blogging the Boys and SB Nation Dallas for more on the Cowboys.