clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NFL Hall Of Fame: Latest Inductees To Hall To Be Named Saturday Evening

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Selection Committee meets Saturday in Indianapolis, and will be announcing those chosen for selection in this year's Hall class. 17 names are up for consideration: Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Jack Butler, Cris Carter, Dermontti Dawson, Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Chris Doleman, Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, Cortez Kennedy, Curtis Martin, Bill Parcells, Andre Reed, Willie Roaf, Will Shields, Dick Stanfel, and Aeneas Williams.

Among those up for consideration, Parcells, Shields and Bettis are thought to be likely inductees. Parcells has technically been a finalist before, given he "retired" from coaching more than once in his career. Shields never missed a game in his career, and is considered one of the greatest offensive lineman in NFL history. Bettis, affectionately known as "The Bus", ranks fifth all-time in career rushing yards.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's current rules stipulate that between four and seven new members be selected each year. Of that number, no more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year.

The election results will be announced on NFL Network at 5:30 p.m. ET Saturday. The Class of 2012 will be the 50th class elected to the Hall of Fame.

For more news and notes on 2012 Hall Of Fame Class check out the SB Nation NFL StoryStream.