clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

JaVale McGee Selected For 2011 NBA Slam Dunk Contest, Officially

Well, it's now officially official. The NBA has just announced the field for the 2011 Slam Dunk Contest, and JaVale McGee's name is on it. McGee will join Blake Griffin, Serge Ibaka and Brandon Jennings in the event.

Here's the official release:

There will be a new Sprite Slam Dunk champion crowned on Feb. 19, at STAPLES Center (8 p.m. ET on TNT) in Los Angeles as four first-time contestants vie for the title: the Los Angeles Clippers' Blake Griffin, the Milwaukee Bucks' Brandon Jennings, the Oklahoma City Thunder's Serge Ibaka and the Washington Wizards' JaVale McGee.    

McGee also confirmed the news earlier on his Twitter account:

3 big men in the dunk contest...#Priceless... really excited !!!!    

Griffin is the overwhelming favorite, but McGee has certainly pulled off his fair share of dunks, so maybe he can slay the dragon.