clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 NBA Slam Dunk Contest: Time, TV schedule and participants

Six contenders, including two defending champs, plan to put on a show during Saturday's Slam Dunk Contest.

Pat Lovell-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA is hoping more participants and a slightly modified format will lead to more creativity in the 2013 NBA Slam Dunk Contest at 8:30 p.m. Saturday on TNT.

Instead of five participants, this year's field consists of six players -- three from the Eastern Conference and three from the Western Conference.

Defending champion Jeremy Evans of the Utah Jazz, who won last year with a dunk that included catching two balls mid-flight and jumping over Gordon Hayward, gives this year's field two former champions. Eric Bledsoe of the Los Angeles Clippers and Denver Nuggets forward Kenneth Faried, the MVP in Friday's Rising Stars Challenge, are the other Western Conference participants.

More: SB Nation's All Star Weekend coverage

The participants for the East are Gerald Green of the Indiana Pacers, who won the contest in 2007, and James 'Flight' White of the New York Knicks, a legendary dunker with a massive vertical leap. Terrence Ross of the Toronto Raptors is the third Eastern Conference player in the field.

Where: Toyota Center, Houston, Texas

When: Saturday, Feb. 16, 8:30 p.m. ET